You are here
Home > Athletics > Mo Farah backs down on decision to no longer represent Great Britain at 2020 Olympics

Mo Farah backs down on decision to no longer represent Great Britain at 2020 Olympics

Mo Farah has done a U-turn on his choice to hang up his British vest and is presently focusing on the marathon at the Tokyo Olympics.

The four-time Olympic champion was named on the World Class Performance Program on Friday, with group coach Neil Black saying Farah to ‘checks on the possibility’ throughout the following year of Racing in 2020.

Farah ready to step up in this year marathon in the wake of closing down from the track toward the finish of the late spring.

Black stated: ‘It will be Mo’s first year focusing on his performances out and about, and he is checking on his progress of how he will advance.

Altogether, 112 athletes have been offered enrollment to the World Class Program for 2017-18 as British Athletics look towards the following Olympics and the 2024 Games in Paris.

The breakdown of competitors is: Olympic Podium (15), Paralympic Podium (31), Olympic Podium Potential (23), Paralympic Podium Potential (18) and Olympic Relays (25).

Marathon sprinter Callum Hawkins has been elevated to Olympic Podium level, as is pound hurler Nick Miller after his 6th place complete at the World Championships.

The 2013 world 100m obstacles bronze medallist Tiffany Porter and 2015 world long-bounce silver medallist. Seven Paralympic are among those dropped from the platform program.

The Seven Para competitors elevated to Paralympic platform to perform, including world gold medallists Olivia Breen, Sophie Kamlish and Sammi Kinghorn.



Dina Asher-Smith (John Blackie)

Holly Bradshaw (Scott Simpson)

Mo Farah (Gary Lough)

Adam Gemili (Rana Reider)

Robbie Grabarz (Fuzz Caan)

Callum Hawkins (Robert Hawkins)

Sophie Hitchon (Tore Gustafsson)

Zharnel Hughes (Glen Mills)

Katarina Johnson-Thompson (Bertrand Valcin)

Nick Miller (Tore Gustafsson)

Laura Muir (Andy Young)

Cindy Ofili

Greg Rutherford (Dan Pfaff)

Lynsey Sharp (Terrance Mahon)

Lorraine Ugen (Shawn Jackson)


Tom Bosworth (Andi Drake)

Andrew Butchart (Terrance Mahon)

Taylor Campbell (John Pearson)

Rosie Clarke (David Harmer)

Niamh Emerson (David Feeney)

Tom Gale (Denis Doyle)

Charlie Grice (Jon Bigg)

Elliot Giles (Jon Bigg)

Dewi Griffiths (Kevin Evans)

Adam Hague (Trevor Fox)

David King (James Hillier)

Morgan Lake (Fuzz Caan)

Kyle Langford (Jon Bigg)

Eilish McColgan (Liz Nuttall)

Sarah McDonald (David Harmer)

Andrew Pozzi (Benke Blomkvist)

David Omoregie (Brigitte Foster-Hylton)

Shelayna Oskan-Clarke (Jon Bigg)

Jazmin Sawyers (Lance Brauman)

Katie Snowden (Rob Denmark)

Adelle Tracey (Craig Winrow)

Jake Wightman (Geoff Wightman)

Callum Wilkinson (Andi Drake)


Finette Agyapong (Coral Nourrice)

Seren Bundy-Davies (Matt Elias)

Cameron Chalmers (James Hillier)

Zoey Clark (Eddie McKenna)

Dwayne Cowan (Lloyd Cowan)

Emily Diamond (Jared Deacon)

Eilidh Doyle (Brian Doyle)

Ojie Edoburun (Steve Fudge)

Miguel Francis (Glen Mills)

Desiree Henry (Rana Reider)

Matt Hudson Smith (Lance Brauman)

Richard Kilty

Imani Lansiquot (Steve Fudge)

Nigel Levine (Linford Christie)

Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake (Dennis Shaver)

Ashleigh Nelson (Michael Afilaka)

Laviai Nielsen (Christine Bowmaker)

Daryll Neita (Jonas Dodoo)

Asha Philip (Steve Fudge)

Reece Prescod (Jonas Dodoo)

Martyn Rooney (Graham Hedman)

Danny Talbot (Benke Blomkvist)

Chijindu Ujah (Stuart McMillan)

Delano Williams (Stephen Francis)

Rabah Yousif (Carol Williams)


Kare Adenegan (Job King)

Hollie Arnold

Paul Blake (Rob Ellchuk)

Olivia Breen (Aston Moore)

Jonathan Broom-Edwards (Paul Harrison)

Mickey Bushell (Jenny Archer)

Jo Butterfield (Philip Peat / Shona Malcolm)

Richard Chiassaro (Jenni Banks)

Libby Clegg (Joe McDonnell) – Chris Clarke (Guide Runner)

Hannah Cockroft (Jenni Banks)

Kadeena Cox (Brian Scobie)

Aled Davies (Ryan Spencer-Jones)

Kyron Duke (Anthony Hughes)

Sabrina Fortune (Ian Robinson)

Toby Gold (Jenni Banks)

Dan Greaves (John Godina)

Sophie Hahn (Joe McDonnell)

David Henson (Roger Keller)

Georgie Hermitage (Paul MacGregor)

Jordan Howe (Christian Malcolm)

Sophie Kamlish (Rob Ellchuk)

Sammi Kinghorn (Ian Mirfin)

Maria Lyle (Jamie Bowie)

Stephen Miller (Ros Miller)

Jonnie Peacock (Michael Khmel / Dan Pfaff)

Gemma Prescott (Mike Wood)

Stef Reid (Aston Moore)

Andrew Small (Rick Hoskins)

Isaac Towers (Jenni Banks)

Richard Whitehead (Keith Antoine)


Martina Barber (Paddy O’Shea)

Craig Boardman (Richard Chiassaro)

Dan Bramall (Peter Wyman)

Shaun Burrows (Joe McDonnell)

Kylie Grimes (Philip Peat)

Mo Jomni (Jenny Archer)

Rhys Jones (Christian Malcolm)

Nathan Maguire (Ste Hoskins)

Polly Maton (Colin Baross)

Stephen Morris (James Thie)

Derek Rae (Ron Morrison)

Ben Rowlings (Ian Mirfin)

Zac Shaw (Joe McDonnell)

Luke Sinnott (Roger Keller)

Zak Skinner (Aston Moore)

Laura Sugar (Joe McDonnell)

Vanessa Wallace (Alison O’Riordan)

Eve Walsh-Dann (Roger Sexton)

Black included: ‘On the back of the best World Para Athletics Championships in the cutting edge period, and accomplishing our award targets and completing fourth in the placings table at the IAAF World Championships this mid-year, our World Class Program reflects upon the criteria for decoration potential as we advance through the Tokyo cycle in front of the Olympic and Paralympic Games in 2020.

‘I’d jump at the chance to thank the National Lottery and UK Sport for their proceeded with an interest in the World Class Program.

‘The help empowers our competitors to be the best arranged in their journey for achievement in the coming year as we work towards the 2020 and 2024 Games.’

Sports freak at your door step

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply