You are here
Home > Football > Egyptian and Liverpool star Mohammed Salah wins 2017 CAF player of the year

Egyptian and Liverpool star Mohammed Salah wins 2017 CAF player of the year

Egypt international and Liverpool star Mohamed Salah has been named 2017 Caf African Player of the Year award.
Salah takes home the award for the first time ever, as he managed to defeat competition from fellow finalists Sadio Mane and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang at the awards ceremony in Accra.
The 25-year-old turned in a stunning campaign for Liverpool in 2017 as he scored 17 goals in 21 games after joining the English Premier League side from AS Roma.
The Caf Player of the Year award was initially pared down to a shortlist of 30. From there, Salah, Aubameyang and Mane were named the three finalists in December.
The winner of the award was selected by the current coaches and captain from every men’s national team in Africa.

The initial 23 man nominees were:
1.Essam El Hadary(Egypt & Al Taawoun)

2. Fabrice Ondoa(Cameroon & Sevilla)

3.Fackson Kapumbu (Zambia & Zesco)

4. Jean Michel Seri(Cote d’Ivoire & Nice)

5. Junior Kabananga(DR Congo & Astana)

6. Karim El Ahmadi (Morocco & Feyenoord)

7. Keita Balde(Senegal & Monaco)

8. Khalid Boutaib (Morocco & Yeni Malatyaspor)

9. Mbwana Samata(Tanzania & Genk)

10. Michael Olunga (Kenya & Girona)

11. Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)

12. Moussa Marega (Mali & Porto)

13. Naby Keita (Guinea & RB Leipzig)

14. Percy Tau (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns)

15. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Borussia Dortmund)

16. Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)

17. Thomas Partey(Ghana & Atletico Madrid)

18. Victor Moses (Nigeria & Chelsea) 19.Vincent Aboubakar (Cameroon & Porto)

20. William Troost-Ekong (Nigeria & Bursaspor)

21.Yacine Brahimi (Algeria & Porto)

22. Youssef Msakni (Tunisia & Al Duhail)

23. Yves Bissouma (Mali & Lille).

Sports freak at your door step

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply