You are here
Home > Football > Balon d’or list revealed: Liverpool have SEVEN stars on 30-man list as last year’s winner Luka Modric misses out

Balon d’or list revealed: Liverpool have SEVEN stars on 30-man list as last year’s winner Luka Modric misses out

Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi, Mohamed Salah, Sadio Mane and Virgil van Dijk have all been shortlisted for this year’s Ballon d’Or prize, as France Football announced its 30-man shortlist on Monday night.

Mane and Van Dijk were among seven Liverpool players to be named and were joined by Premier League counterparts Sergio Aguero, Bernardo Silva and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang among others.

Mane, Salah and Van Dijk’s Liverpool team-mates Roberto Firmino, Alisson, Georginio Wijnaldum and Trent Alexander-Arnold were also included for their involvement in Liverpool’s sixth Champions League triumph.

Ronaldo and Messi are both going for a sixth Ballon d’Or title. Rightly heralded as the world’s best players for the past decade, the duo will once again go head to head this year.

Meanwhile, Hugo Lloris was among the shortlisted stars despite an indifferent season between the sticks for Tottenham Hotspur.

Manchester City star Silva has been shortlisted for his contributions to his side’s Premier League title win last season. He was joined by fellow City midfielders Riyad Mahrez and Kevin De Bruyne.

Raheem Sterling was also rewarded for his impressive form over the past 12 months with a nomination to complete City’s representation on the shortlist. Tottenham forward Son Heung-min is included after helping guide Mauricio Pochettino’s side to the Champions League final.


Sadio Mane – Liverpool

Sergio Aguero – Manchester City

Frenkie de Jong – Ajax/ Barcelona

Hugo Lloris – Tottenham

Dusan Tadic – Ajax

Kylian Mbappe – PSG

Trent Alexander-Arnold – Liverpool

Donny van de Beek – Ajax

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang – Arsenal

Marc-Andre Ter-Stegen – Barcelona

Cristiano Ronaldo – Juventus

Alisson – Liverpool

Matthijs de Ligt – Juventus

Karim Benzema – Real Madrid

Georginio Wijnaldum – Liverpool

Virgil van Dijk – Liverpool

Bernardo Silva – Manchester City

Heung-min Son – Tottenham Hotspur

Robert Lewandowski – Bayern Munich

Roberto Firmino – Liverpool

Lionel Messi – Barcelona

Kevin de Bruyne – Manchester City

Kalidou Koulibaly – Napoli

Riyad Mahrez – Manchester City

Antoine Griezmann – Barcelona

Mohamed Salah – Liverpool

Joao Felix – Atletico Madrid

Eden Hazard – Real Madrid

Marquinhos – PSG

Raheem Sterling – Manchester City

Paris Saint-Germain star Kylian Mbappe was also on the list alongside team-mate Marquinhos, Donny van de Beek and Marc-Andre Ter-Stegen.

Ronaldo’s former Real Madrid team-mate Karim Benzema is on the list as well while Juventus and Netherlands defender Matthijs de Ligt has been shortlisted after a fine breakout season with Ajax, as has former Southampton striker Dusan Tadic.

Eden Hazard also has a chance of winning the award after being named in the final batch of nominees. He was joined by Madrid rival Joao Felix after his stunning rise to prominence at Benfica.

Experienced striker Robert Lewandowski makes the shortlist despite a relatively quiet season for the German champions Bayern Munich.

Antoine Griezmann, who joined Barcelona from Atletico Madrid this summer, was also among the nominees. Last year, Messi and Ronaldo’s Ballon d’Or dominance was ended by Real Madrid’s Luka Modric, who enjoyed a magnificent year guiding Madrid to a third straight Champions League trophy as well as leading his native Croatia to the World Cup final.

However, the midfielder doesn’t make the hefty shortlist this year. Nor does his team-mate Gareth Bale after a turbulent year in the Spanish capital.

Sports freak at your door step

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply